E2S Governance

  • Help
  • Find
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
E2S: Energy and Environment Solutions
You are here:

E2S Governance

To ensure the success of the E2S project, a specific governance, distinct from those of the consortium institutions, has been set up.

The project is run by the Executive Director of E2S Management Board, proposed by the President of UPPA and designated by the Board of Trustees.

The governing bodies are as follows:

The Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the decision-making body responsible for defining E2S's overall strategy, proposing an implementation roadmap, allocating personnel and resources, and monitoring the results of E2S actions. The trustees represent the consortium, its economic partners and the New Aquitaine Regional Council. As such, they guarantee the coherence of the project in relationship with the socio-economic partners and the local communities.


The Executive Committee comprises seven members appointed for four years:

  • Three representatives of the consortium: the president of UPPA and the representatives appointed by INRA and INRIA
  • Two representatives appointed by the Business Committee
  • A representative of the Regional Council New Aquitaine
  • The Executive Director of E2S


Management Board

The Management Board is responsible for the implementation of the E2S project. The E2S Executive Director is the chairperson. Its members manage, coordinate and oversee the scientific, administrative and financial aspects of all decision-making, related to organisational and management processes, as well as all the communication around the E2S project, especially with the relevant bodies (consortium and partners).

Each year, this operational committee hands in to the Board of Trustees an annual report keeping track of the progess achieved.


The Management Board comprises fifteen appointed members:

  • The Executive Director of E2S
  • Four administrative members, in charge of financial and administrative management
  • Five scientific officers
  • A teaching officer
  • A human resources officer
  • An internationalisation officer
  • A partnerships officer
  • The Executive Director of NCU SPACE project


The External Scientific Committee

The External Scientific Committee is an external and independent evaluation body which was set up on 9 November 2017. Its members are entrusted with the critically reviewing of E2S UPPA's strategic orientations, roadmap and implementation plan.


The external scientific committee is composed of six experts appointed for four years:

  • Célia VÉROT (Director of the Foundation for the Heritage),
  • Robert ARMSTRONG (Director of MIT-EI, USA),
  • Ulrich RÜDIGER (Rector of the University of Konstanz, Germany),
  • Omar GHATTAS (University of Texas, Austin - USA),
  • Steven BEISSINGER (University of California, Berkeley - USA)
  • and Yves BAMBERGER (member of the Academy of Technologies, former EDF R&D Director).

  Picture taken on the first meeting of the external scientific committee. Ulrich RÜDIGER was absent.